My First Vote

Voting for the first time was quite exciting for me. Not just because I was voting, but rather it was a feeling that I could make a difference. My vote makes a difference and I can choose who is going to be our future president. I was on the basketball court when my classmates came to me and told me about election cards they were distributing in my high school. I got so excited and dropped the ball and ran into the office. There was a massive line. I missed two hours of my classes so I could get a card for voting. I took the card and kept it in a very confidential place. I was eager to vote.

Months passed and I graduated from high school and forgot all about the voting card, until the candidates were announced and advertisements were all over the walls and propaganda was everywhere. By now, I was working as a finance assistant in a hospital. I used to spend days debating who was going to be our future president: who should win it and why. My colleagues and I used to watch the candidates’ speeches and discuss it the next day in the office.

Finally the moments of patience were over and it was voting day. As soon as I got up, I looked outside the window, expecting a rush of people on the streets. I found the streets very calm and not a single person out. I felt very disillusioned.

In the meantime, my mom called me to talk on the phone with my brother who is in Europe. He admonished me not to go out of the house because of the chaotic situation. I dwelled on this for a second and then started to burst out on everyone. I told them how it has been my dream to help my country and make a difference, and how much I had been unbearably waiting for this day. I ended up in an argument with my brother and mother.
My father was the only one who supported me and I won the debate. I went and voted. I can’t explain what feelings I had at that moment. It was quite pleasant. The day before yesterday, when I heard that the candidate who I voted for got the presidency, I felt like I had made a vast difference by voting for the right person and by choosing the right person to serve my country.
I hope he meets our expectations.

By Ellaha

3 responses to “My First Vote

  1. To have your voice heard in an election process is to take the first step towards creating a better life for yourself and the people of your country. It is a momentous event and one you should be proud to have participated in.

    I grew up in apartheid South Africa and the first time that I voted was after Nelson Mandela was released and even now, 15 years later, I still remember the pride and the underlying anxiety I felt the first time I voted in my own country.

    Thanks for your story.

  2. I’m so glad you followed your heart and voted — and that your father supported your decision. I will never take my right to vote for granted again. When I vote I will think of you from now on.

  3. This made me so happy. I live in America and am fortunate not to have to worry about being stopped when I go to vote.

    My father is not a citizen and can’t vote. One year I thought I may skip it and he looked at me very seriously and told me “People died so you could vote.”

    I have voted ever since. I hope you do too.

Leave a Reply

