Smile of Stars – A Poem

He is simple like
My childhood paintings
His face is like a
Smile of stars at midnight
He has a wide heart
Like the Pacific Ocean
His eyes are honest and lovely couples
His thoughts are deep like time
He thinks about the meaning of life
And is secretive when
When he thinks about the sky

His words are expensive
Very expensive
When he says Dear:
Never think about the last three letters of
Friend.
I love his wisdom as a real man
When he laughs
It is my honeymoon in paradise
But I love…
I love his shoulders
To put my head on
And cry…
His support is like
A piece of a cloud’s shadow
In a hot and thirsty desert
What hurts me is
that he is the sun I need…
But I can’t reach.

By Roya

11 responses to “Smile of Stars – A Poem

  1. I love these lines:

    and is secretive when
    he thinks about the sky.

    The words cast such a wide net around the person’s secretiveness and expand the mystery.

    I noticed that you had “when” twice, and I suggest using it at the end of the line after “secretive” because it leaves a little open space in the reader’s mind before you get to the next line, and makes the next line even more surprising.

  2. my sweet and beautiful roya
    i read your sweet two new poems on your blog, they are simply fantastic, so beautiful and nice
    but one thing i would like to ask you is that whenever someone write anything, he or she write it for someone or there is a reason behind when one write such beautiful verses,
    what is the reason behind yours or do you write for some one?
    is this your powerful imagination that you write so beautifuly,
    you are moving so fast and i wish you to keep moving because i can see Allah has opened the doors of success for you, i am sure your will reach the peak and now I am waiting that you appear on TV channels like CNN or BBC and i am also sure that one day you will reach the studios of these channels.

  3. this is a beautiful poem. devastating, but beautiful. the rapid transformation of his being as familiar and tangible as a childhood painting to becoming a piece of cloud’s shadow and the sun she can’t reach is sad. it captures the balance between what we want, what we have momentarily and what can never be.

    your words are wonderful.

  4. Suzanne Scarfone

    A piece of a cloud’s shadow
    In a hot and thirsty desert

    Roya, These kinds of metaphorical lines referring to the particularities of nature seem to me to make up the central strength of your works. Nature, people, self connections are a contemporary extension of the English Romantic poets and the modern British novels. These writers infuse the imagination into the world surrounding them. Have you William Wordsworth’s The Prelude or any of Virginia Woolf’s later novels, especially the Waves?

  5. Suzanne Scarfone

    A piece of a cloud’s shadow
    In a hot and thirsty desert

    Roya, these kinds of metaphorical lines referring to the particularities of nature seem to me to make up the central strength of your works. Nature-people-self-desire connections are a contemporary extension of the English Romantic poets and the Modern British novelists. These writers infuse the imagination into the world surrounding them. Have you read William Wordsworth’s The Prelude or any of Virginia Woolf’s later novels, especially the Waves? I strongly suggest you read Woolf’s Moments of Being which describe the way a writer can perceive the pattern behind the cotton wool of life.

  6. Suzanne Scarfone

    A piece of a cloud’s shadow
    In a hot and thirsty desert

    Roya, these kinds of metaphorical lines referring to the particularities of nature seem to me to make up the central strength of your works. Nature-people-self-desire connections are a contemporary extension of the English Romantic poets and the Modern British novelists. These writers infuse the imagination into the world surrounding them. Have you read William Wordsworth’s The Prelude or any of Virginia Woolf’s later novels, especially the Waves? I strongly suggest you read Woolf’s Moments of Being which describes the way a writer can perceive the pattern behind the cotton wool of life.

  7. Suzanne Scarfone

    A piece of a cloud’s shadow
    In a hot and thirsty desert

    Roya, these kinds of metaphorical lines referring to the particularities of nature seem to me to make up the central strength of your works. Nature-people-self-desire connections are a contemporary extension of the English Romantic poets and the Modern British novelists. These writers infuse the imagination into the world surrounding them. Have you read William Wordsworth’s The Prelude or any of Virginia Woolf’s later novels, especially the Waves? I strongly suggest you read Woolf’s Moments of Being which describes the way a writer can perceive the pattern behind the cotton wool of life.

  8. I read your poem, not caring at all that I didn’t know specifically who you were talking about — or what prompted you to write this. Your words are so perfectly metaphorical that I would follow them anywhere — read them all day. I especially liked: His face is like a smile of stars at midnight. Wow!

  9. Why does love got to be so sad?

  10. When I read your poems, especially this one, I read such deep emotions that are erupting out for lack of any place to go. I am so glad that you are sharing these poems online. Your poems encourage me to start writing poetry again so I may share my thoughts. Please do keep writing, write as much as you can about everything. You have such a wonderful writer’s voice Roya, and I hope you don’t keep it a secret.

  11. Captivating!

Leave a Reply

